Why the Negativity?

As everyone continues to #prayforflo, the woman with postpartum depression that is missing, I’d just like to give you a little food for thought.

cwtp34nuuaad5ux

I’d like to start this by saying I have incredibly supportive people in my life, to whom I’m so grateful for.

That being said, I’m continually shocked at the negative comments I’ve received since having a baby. Here’s a sample of some conversations I’ve had recently:

Someone: How is he sleeping?
Me: Really great, right now he sleeps 12 hours straight at night and naps pretty well during the day.
Someone: Well don’t get used to that.
Me: …

Someone: Is he a good baby?
Me: Really great, he’s such a happy baby.
Someone: Well I guess your next baby won’t be then. He’s a trick baby.
Me: …

Seriously? This is just a sampling of conversations I have with people every damn day. I’m not an idiot. I understand my baby will change. BUT I’m living with the baby I have now, not fearing the one I may have next week or next month. I believe William feeds off how happy and positive I am. So I will continue to be happy and positive.

I don’t think people do this maliciously… but my gawd, think before you speak! And remember just how fragile new moms can be whether they have postpartum depression or not … and give them a break. Literally. Instead of criticizing them, come to their home and give them a break. Because they’re tired!!

Leave a Reply

